What is the SBAC Test?

What is the SBAC Test?

The SBAC test was developed by the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium, which is a group of educators from states across the nation. This test has grown in popularity, and over 220 colleges and universities located across 10 states now use an SBAC test score as part of college readiness evaluations.

What Subjects and Grade Levels Are Tested?

The goal of the SBAC test is to measure the progress of students throughout their primary and secondary academic career. To do this, the exam assesses students before, during, and after grades 3 through 8, and 11. The exam provides achievement guidelines in math and English language arts that are designed to be appropriate for all student subgroups, including English as a Second Language (ESL) and students with disabilities.

What Is the SBAC Testing Experience Like?

The SBAC test is comprised of several question types, including multiple-choice, short answer, extended-response (essay), and grid-in problems for math, among others. The high variability in formats for the questions is designed to more adequately measure competence in the subject matter covered by the test. Unlike several other standardized tests, the SBAC is an untimed test, and it is recommended that students take any extra time they need to complete all of the questions.

How Is the SBAC Test Scored?

SBAC test scores range between 2000 and 3000 based upon the performance of the test taker. An achievement level from 1–4 is derived from that score, making it very easy to understand. For instance, for a student to demonstrate college readiness, an achievement level of 4 is expected for both the Mathematics and English Language Arts sections of the test.

Keep Reading